The Heart is a Jungle

April 26, 2015

Dear friends.  How long has it been since I’ve written?  Things have changed.  I’ve been so busy.  

But I still heart jungles.

I spent a few weeks in the Philippines recently.  Then I came home and re-discoverd the maps I drew for my jungle books.  Presto! A new post.

I just wanna look in there…

IMG_0014

Here is the first version of the Fire in the Jungle map.  My initial idea combined regular jungle, dark jungle, and apocalypse jungle into a single map…

IMG_0002

Later, I decided to move the dark jungle and apocalypse jungle ideas mostly out of the initial campaign area, to develop them separately with different styles and themes.  Here’s a later version of the original Fire in the Jungle map in pencil…

IMG_0001

Mostly similar to the final map.  Looking back, I like the shaded mountains in the that version better, compared to the icon style mountains in the published map…

IMG_0013

A short jungle interlude.  That’s me in the green shirt, participating in a wet t-shirt contest, in a river, under the jungle.  The woman in pink dominated…

IMG_0017

There were numerous steps in creating the Tomb of the Monkey God map.  First, I worked it all out in pencil, with lots of erasing along the way (right map).  Then I traced it in ink with the help of a stencil.  Finally, it was scanned, tweaked, and colored digitally to produce the final map…

IMG_0003

IMG_0012

Roadtripping in northeast Mindanao, Philippines…

IMG_0015

The map in Jungle Castle Rock Apocalypse is based on northeast Mindanao, then flipped horizontally.  I’m so clever.  I sketched out a pile of topographic maps.  An early version…

IMG_0004

A couple versions later I experimented with a broader floodplain and steeper mountains…

IMG_0005

Until finally settling on a more balanced version…

IMG_0006

IMG_0009

Another picture from the road.  This mountain valley area is probably the closest I’ve ever been to actual wild and crazy jungle-jungle.  This is actually the primary “highway” along the eastern Surigao coast…

IMG_0031

I visited Corregidor Island!  A primary inspiration for Jungle Castle Rock Apocalypse.  The book’s cover photo is the entrance to Malinta Tunnel in 1945…

IMG_0008

Here is that entrance in 2015…

IMG_0028

The Tunnels Under the Rock map is the Malinta Tunnel map repeated ad infinitum reductio ad absurdum lorem ipsum…

IMG_0010

The actual Malinta Tunnel goes all the way through the mountain, with numerous side passages…

IMG_0029

IMG_0030

Watch out for Rebar Hulks…

IMG_0024

And Rebar Trolls…

IMG_0021

The Castle on the Rock map is a mashup of ruined buildings found on Corregidor.  The original penciled map…

IMG_0007

GIMP is your friend…

IMG_0011

Visuals…

IMG_0023

Physical graffiti…

IMG_0019

Da big gunz…

IMG_0026

I just wanna look in there…

IMG_0022

I just wanna go down there…

IMG_0025

A man’s home is his castle…in the jungle…

IMG_0016

Leave a comment